Carver Mead to receive ACM Allen Newell Award

Rohit Khare (
Thu, 15 Jan 1998 22:54:45 -0800

This is a multi-part message in MIME format.

Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

Was anyone else equally unnerved by the insanely campy and loopy antics
of the eerily-monikered CarverMedia in _Tomorrow Never Dies_?

Well, anyhoo, congrats to a fellow Beaver for increasing the
reputational value of my degree yb a few tenths of a cent...

Rohit "So, hey, when *will* Computation and Neural Systems stage a
hostile takeover of the CS Dept. and be done with it, especially under
the new Baltimorean era of Biologists' rule?" Khare

Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii; name="contact1.html"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Disposition: inline; filename="contact1.html"

[ACM logo][Home][Feedback][Join][Shop][Search]

Press Release
Carver Mead to receive ACM Allen Newell Award


CONTACT: Tina Angelone





New York, September 30, 1997... Carver Mead will receive the Allen Newell
Award from the Association for Computing (ACM) at a special reception at
the National Academy of Engineering in Washington DC on Sunday, October
5th. The award, to be presented by ACM President Charles House, is given
to an individual selected for career contributions within the field of
computer science, or for contributions bridging computer science and other
disciplines. This award is supported by the American Association for
Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) and by individual contributions.

"Carver Mead has made many diverse and seminal contributions to the
computing and semiconductor industries through the development of
semiconductors, their design, and specific, archetypal chip designs.
Mead's most important contribution enabled the design of digital chips
through the concept of lambda scaling, and the first silicon compiler.
This technology is the foundation that allows the modern semiconductor
industry to design and build complex, VLSI chips."

This work was followed by his acclaimed treatise and methodology for
analog chip circuitry design. His talents are both broad and deep, and
range from neuroscience in the form of various chips for the first
artificial retina and cochlea, to original chip architectures, to the
fundamental design of new semiconducting devices. His earliest work
includes the first working GaAs MESFET. Most of these inventions were
solely his, followed by co-work with graduate students. He has created a
cadre of graduate students who have made the U.S. semiconductor industry
great and unsurpassed. Similarly, he has worked with many companies in the
startup phase, including Intel Corporation, the founding of Silicon
Compilers (now part of Mentor Graphics), Actel, Synaptics, Aptix, Silerity
(now part of Viewlogic Systems, Inc), and Sonix.


Carver Mead is also known for his classic text, Introduction to VLSI
Systems, which he co-authored with Lynn Conway, and which proposed design
rules for

developing complex, high-density integrated circuits, and which has been
widely-influential in engineering programs across the country. His current
focus is on modeling and constructing electronic versions of human
biological structures, which he calls "neuromorphic electronic systems."
He graduated from Caltech with B.S. M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in electrical

About Allen Newell

The Newell award's namesake, Allen Newell, was a pioneer in artificial
intelligence who developed the "rule-based" approach to problem solving.
He taught at Carnegie-Mellon and played a key role in developing the
computer science department there. Among his many awards are the
ACM'sTuring Award and the Franklin Institute's Louis E. Levy medal. With
Gordon Bell, Newell wrote Computer Structures, a classic computer science
text. Newell died in 1992.

About the ACM

The Association for Computing (ACM) is a major force in advancing the
skills of information technology professionals and students. The ACM
serves its global membership by delivering cutting edge technical
information and transferring ideas from theory to practice. The ACM, with
its world-class journals and magazines, dynamic special interest groups,
numerous conferences, workshops, and electronic forums, is a primary
resource to the information technology field.

The ACM was founded in 1947, a year after the first successful electronic
digital computer (ENIAC) was unveiled. It became the largest international
scientific and educational computer society in the world. Its founders and
first members were mathematicians and electrical engineers, one of them
being John Mauchly, the co-inventor of the ENIAC. They formed the
Association as a forum for the exchange of information, knowledge and
ideas that would advance the development of computing technology and its
emergent industry.

Over the years, ACM's membership has included most of the men and women
who led the world into what is now called the Information Age. Their
activities are honored both in ACM publications and in ACM awards for
distinctive contributions to the field, such as the A.M. Turing Award and
the Grace Murray Hopper Award. ACM members include computer practitioners,
developers, researchers, educators, engineers and managers with a
significant interest in the creation and application of information
technologies. For additional information about the ACM, see on the World Wide Web



ACM/Pressroom. Last Update: 11/11/97 by TA


1997 Association for Computing Machinery