Industry Standard's Net 21

Sally Khudairi (
Wed, 23 Jun 1999 22:57:25 -0400

28 June issue of the Industry Standard lists the most influential people in
the Internet economy. I'm confused about a couple of their choices, in
particular the runner up to TimBL for Standards Bearer...what happened? Did
they run out of candidates or something? Rather odd choice, especially if
they knew the history outside of the spin-cycle.

- S

>> apologies for the abbreviations; am typing like a madwoman; running out
of time, need to get back to work <<

--- --- ---

Most Effective Startup CEO
winner: Jeff Arnold, WebMD
runner-up: Toby Lenk, eToys

Most Effective Big-Company CEO
winner: C. Michael Armstrong, AT&T
runner-up: Lou Gerstner, IBM

Most Innovative E-Commerce Exec, B-to-B
winner: John Chambers, Cisco
runner-up: David Perry, Chemdex

Most Innovative E-Commerce Exec, Retail
winner: Jeff Bezos,
runner-up: Pierre Omidyar, eBay

Most Influential New-Business Strategist
winner: Jay Walker,
runner-up: Bill Gross, IdeaLab

Most Influential International Exec
winner: Masayoshi Son, Softbank
runner-up: Yossi Vardi, ICQ

Most Powerful Investment Banker
winner: Brad Koenig, Goldman Sachs
runner-up: Dan Caase, Hambrecht & Quist

Most Influential Internet Analyst
winner: Mary Meeker, Morgan Stanley
runner-up: Henry Bloget, Merrill Lynch

Most Influential Investor
winner: Bill Gates, Microsoft
runner-up: David Wetherell, CMGI

Most Powerful Venture Capitalist
winner: John Doerr, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
runner-up: Bob Kagle, Benchmark Capital

Most Influential Internet Advertising Campaign
winner: IBM's e-Business Ad Campaign, [multiagency creative team]
runner-up: Kevin O'Connor, DoubleClick

Most Influential Net Marketing Executive
winner: Bob Pittman, AOL
runner-up: Jeffrey Mallett, Yahoo!

Most Important Infrastructure Builder
winner: Joe Nacchio, Qwest
runner-up: Thomas Jermoluk, Excite-AtHome

Most Important Software Developer
winner: Bill Joy, Sun Microsystems
runner-up: Linus Torvalds, Creator of Linux

Most Important Hardware Developer
winner: Teiyu Goto, Sony
runner-up: John Rubenstein, Apple

Most Important Government Policy Maker
winner: Joel Klein, DOJ, Antitrust Division
runner-up: William Kennard, FCC

Most Influential Standard-Bearer
winner: Tim Berners-Lee, World Wide Web Consortium
runner-up: Marc Andreessen, AOL

Most Influential Thinker
winner: Alan Greenspan, Federal Reserve Board
runner-up: Eric Raymond, Open-Source Initiative

Most Powerful Net Media Mogul
winner: Tom Rogers, NBC
runner-up: Halsey Minor, CNET

Most Influential Writer/Journalist
winner: Kara Swishser, Wall Street Journal; Author,
runner-up: Matt Drudge, Drudge Report

Most Powerful Consigliere
winner: Bill Savoy, Vulcan Ventures
runner-up: Gary Reback, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati