A summary of the world.

I Find Karma (adam@cs.caltech.edu)
Mon, 1 Jul 96 15:27:26 PDT

Thanks to Megan for forwarding me this gem. Really
puts things into perspective.


PS - I met Ernie's cousin Daniel Charlu over the phone
today. It's a small world, after all.

Mime-Version: 1.0 (NeXT Mail 4.0 v141)
Content-Type: text/plain
X-Nextstep-Mailer: Mail 3.3 (Enhance 1.0)
To: Adam Rifkin <adam@cs.caltech.edu>, John Dobbin <dobbin@tma.com>
Subject: okay, I usually don't pass this stuff on, but....
Reply-To: megan_coughlin@ajax.wda.disney.com
X-Duck: Hate
X-Url: http://members.tripod.com/~meganc

Begin forwarded message:

From: "Clapp, Cathe" <cclapp@chmc.org>
To: Dad & Mom <clairjames@aol.com>, "Denis.Keyes"
<Denis.Keyes@ci.seattle.wa.us>, Jacquie S Mahoney <mahoney@battelle.org>, Megan
K Coughlin <mkc1@ajax.wda.disney.com>
Subject: A pass along message
Date: Tue, 25 Jun 96 10:37:00 PDT


If we could shrink the Earth's population to a village of precisely 100
people, with all existing human ratios remaining the same, it would look
like this:

There would be 57 Asians, 21 Europeans, 14 from the Western Hemisphere
(North and South) and 8 Africans.
51 would be female; 49 would be male
70 would be nonwhite; 30 white.
70 would be non-Christian; 30 Christian.
50% of the entire world's wealth would be in the hands of only 6 people and
all 6 would be citizens of the United States.
80 would live in substandard housing.
70 would be unable to read.
50 would suffer from malnutrition.
1 would be near death, 1 would be near birth.
Only 1 would have a college education.
No one would own a computer.

In considering the world from such an incredibly compressed perspective, the
need for both tolerance and understanding becomes glaringly apparent: From
PeaceWorks homepage.